Apple or Android?

Bee

Founding Member
I think I just have an objection to the whole Apple corporation. Sure, the products are well-designed and intuitive, but I dislike the built-in obsolescence and spin-offs such as iTunes etc. The final, final straw for me was the version of the iPhone where you had to buy the headphones separately. Greedy, greedy Apple.

And, as a writer, I'm sick to death of wannabe writers taking up space in cafes with their 'look-at-me-I'm-being-creative' Macbooks.

Professional jealousy? Maybe. But my little HP laptop and desktop do me just fine - and there's enough money left over for treats too.

Jon

Administrator
Staff member
I am a PC man. I know that makes me sound boring! I did buy myself an iMac for £2,300 as I bought into the hype. It has ended up as a glorified YouTube player! Yes, it is fast (i7 and all that). But my neural pathways are too ingrained with the Windows way. And the obsolecence of a locked in device is not great. With my 15 year old PC (yes, really!), I could whip out the old hard drive, slap in an SSD drive and away you go!

One thing that I like on the iMac is the built in macro language, where you can automate tasks. You can get apps that do the same for Windows, like Automate, but they cost a ton of money.

The_Doc_Man

Founding Member
Neither. I refuse to have a phone that might actually be smarter than me. I sure don't want one pretentious enough to claim to be smart.

I have an old flip phone (clam shell) that I use ONLY when on the road and ONLY for emergencies. Given that I am no longer on call 24x7 and that my wife and I don't travel much, all I need is the ability to call and say "Meet me at the Rouse's Supermarket at 7 PM" or "I've got a flat tire, I'll be 30 minutes later than planned." Stuff like that.

Jon

Administrator
Staff member