Mental Tube

Uncle Gizmo

Founding Member
The power of introverts | Susan Cain

Considering myself a bit introverted, I'm not quite sure that's true, it's more like I hate extroverts! I really loved this video. Next time I watch it I will drop in time indexes and descriptions to the bits I think are the most interesting/relevant.. Please feel free to do the same!

Last edited:

Bee

Founding Member
Wow. Firstly let me say what a warm and engaging style she has. It was a pleasure to listen to her expressing her ideas.

This hit home with me for so many reasons. Firstly, I am naturally introverted. People are often surprised by that because I'm also fascinated by other people and I am very social. But what they don't see is that I need a degree of solitude to recuperate, gather my thoughts, process them and be ready for the next onslaught. And it often is an onslaught.

You may have picked up that in my spare time, I'm a writer - and I'm beginning to enjoy enough success for people to ask me am I going to stop work. The answer to that is hell no! I know I'm introverted. I know that writing is solitary. You'd think it would be the ideal scenario for me, but I actually need a certain amount of external stimulus - and as I've said, I am fascinated by people, so my ideal would be to work part time and write part time. Only then would I feel like I had the right balance for me.